“Variations on a Theme by William Billings for Solo Violin and String Orchestra”

This original work is based on a four voice canon “When Jesus Wept” by William Billings that was composed during the American Revolution Era.

The text of the original canon was written by Billings:

“When Jesus wept, the falling tear
in mercy flowed beyond all bound;
when Jesus mourned, a trembling fear
seized all the guilty world around.”

The form and structure of the score is a set of variations on the Billings theme first introduced by the solo violin and then developed by the solo violin and the string orchestra in 12 variations.

Copyright 2020 by Frank W. Becker and Becker Ditto Music


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.